Deep Freeze is a program that can be used to wipe out all the changes made to a computer. This is a great way to keep your computer clean and fresh.

Now you would be right if you looked at that page and thought that this is a program used by big companies or institutions. However, those are not their only customers. They sell a standard edition of the program for $45, which in my opinion, is cheap considering the benefits. ..

I’ve found that Office 365 and Adobe Creative Cloud are the best software options for me because they are both very convenient and offer a lot of features.

I found out about the program through my community college, which uses it and has found it to be an effective tool. I decided to try it out on my personal computer that I use for software reviews, and it has made life a lot easier. ..

Features and Benefits

The program is a reboot-fixing tool that can also be used to fix problems with your computer. It can delete the System32 folder, change the registry keys, and install malware and viruses.

The Deep Freeze program has one limitation: it resets your computer to the last frozen state. This means that if a virus or worm is installed, it will be removed on reboot, but other systems may be damaged until the next reboot. ..

In corporate environments or in institutions, the user accounts are also restricted and the computers are normally forced to restart at least once a day. For home use, I’m the one using it, so I don’t really need that much control. If I’m working with something I know is dangerous, I’ll make sure to restart my computer immediately after.

The program is great because you don’t have to spend any time trying to lock down your computer and you don’t have to spend any extra time recovering your computer. I’ve previously written articles on using system restore, backing up and restoring your registry, restoring your PC to factory settings, and even clean installing Windows 10, but they all require a lot of work plus more work reinstalling your programs, etc., etc.

If you want to revert your computer back to its original state, you can do so by rebooting into Deep Freeze mode. This will reset all of your settings and drivers, so it’s a good way to clean up your computer or install new software. ..

Installation & Use

Deep Freeze is a great program that is very easy to use. It does not require any technical knowledge, and the support is excellent. I had one issue after installation, which I’ll mention below, so I called and had a representative in less than 2 minutes.

To install the program, you first need to purchase it and then extract the ZIP file. The application will then start automatically.

After clicking next, you’ll need to enter your license key that will be emailed to you.

To configure your computer for deep freezing, you will need to pick which drive to use. I recommend using the C drive, as it is where the operating system is located. You can use it for data storage as well if you like. ..

Configuring the ThawSpace size is important because it allows you to store data that you want to keep even if your computer is frozen. I personally recommend not checking the Create ThawSpace box because it can make things more confusing. ..

If you want to save any data on your computer, it’s best to do so on a drive or partition that is not frozen. If you only have one drive with one partition, you should cancel the install and partition your hard drive. If you have a tiny drive and not enough space to partition, then you can create the ThawSpace, which will show up as another drive when you are using Windows. ..

The computer will now be installed and the Deep Freeze icon in the taskbar notification area.

When I right-clicked or double-clicked on the icon, nothing happened. I couldn’t figure it out and the rep told me it’s a security feature. You must either hold down the SHIFT key and then double-click or hold down CTRL + ALT + SHIFT and then press the F6 key. ..

You’ll see the password dialog pop up, but you can just click OK since there is no password set after a new install.

Activate the product now by clicking the Activate Now button. You’ll also need to enter a new password on the Password tab.

The Boot Control page has three options: Boot Frozen, Boot Thawed on next x restarts, and Boot Thawed. Booting thawed means you’ll be able to make changes to the system and they will be saved rather than removed.

I suggest restarting your computer and then installing any Windows updates, software software, etc. Many times Windows doesn’t complete an update in one boot, so you have to reboot several times. Once you have completed all the updates, set it back to Boot Frozen and then restart.

Conclusion

Overall, the computer works well and I’m glad I got it. However, I would not recommend using it on your main computer until you test it out on a secondary system. I use it for my test computer but don’t use it on my main PC since I have a lot of security in place already.

Deep Freeze is a program that can slow your computer down. If you have a computer with low specs, I would avoid using it. You don’t need a super fast computer, but it shouldn’t be anything more than 3 to 5 years old. With the low price, great customer support and simple setup, Deep Freeze is definitely a program more people could benefit from.