You can even try NordVPN with Netflix for yourself as it’s backed by a 30-day money-back guarantee. If you’re not satisfied, just ask for a refund over email or 24/7 live chat (I had my own money back in 5 days when I tested the refund policy). Watch Netflix with NordVPN Note: Please read Netflix’s Terms of Use before using a VPN with the streaming service. My team and I don’t condone breaking any regulations associated with Netflix’s Terms of Use.

Quick Guide: 3 Easy Steps to Watch Netflix From Anywhere in 2023

Watch Netflix with NordVPN

Does NordVPN Still Unblock Netflix?

NordVPN was tested with 11 Netflix libraries, and I found that most NordVPN servers worked with Netflix. My team and I connected to multiple NordVPN servers in each location to verify that each one worked, and the results were excellent. Occasionally, a server would throw back an error, but this was a rare occurrence that was easily fixed by swapping to another local server. To further test NordVPN, it was used to connect to Netflix Canada, Australia, Germany, France, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain, and Japan. It was successful every time. Not many providers can consistently get around Netflix’s VPN ban on the first attempt, so I was very happy with NordVPN’s performance. I did, however, have issues with using NordVPN’s native Fire TV app. Although it worked and unblocked some streaming services, it sometimes had issues unblocking Netflix US and kept crashing.

Is NordVPN Fast Enough for Netflix?

My base internet speed is 200Mbps. When I ran speed tests with NordVPN, the slowest speed was in Australia at 63Mbps and the fastest was in the UK at 169Mbps. This was plenty for me, as Netflix recommends a minimum of 25Mbps for streaming in UHD. However, you can see that NordVPN is slow when connected to distant servers. This isn’t ideal if you travel far on vacation or visit a country with slow internet speeds. However, distance is always going to factor into your speeds, and Nord’s were still above-average even at long distances.

Troubleshooting Tips: What to Do When NordVPN Isn’t Working With Netflix

If you’re seeing the below error message, then Netflix knows you’re using NordVPN and is blocking you. Here are a few ways you can fix the error message and start streaming Netflix again. You seem to be using an unblocker or proxy. Please turn off any of these services and try again. For more help, visit netflix.com/proxy.

1. Choose a Different Server

Keep connecting to different servers until you find one that works with Netflix. This method largely depends on your luck, since you won’t know which NordVPN servers are already blocked by Netflix. However, the vast majority of servers worked seamlessly.

2. Clear Your Cache

Netflix might be identifying your true location because of information stored in your browser’s cache. On your mobile device, you can clear your browser cache or the cache of individual app storage. If you’re on your desktop or laptop, you can open “Advanced Settings” and clear your cache that way.

3. Disable NordVPN’s CyberSec Feature

When you enable CyberSec, your traffic is routed through DNS servers and it can be easier for Netflix to detect. This service blocks and limits ads and malware, so disabling it may hamper your experience. If you’d like to keep ad and malware blockers switched on, I could easily access Netflix with CyberGhost’s optimized servers with its ad and malware blocker running at the same time.

4. Contact Customer Support

You can contact the customer support team over email or live chat. Ask for the latest list of servers that work with Netflix.

5. Get a Different VPN for Netflix

If you’ve tried every other option, then you might need a different VPN. In rare cases, NordVPN simply might not have enough servers in your location, or those servers could be blacklisted. While NordVPN regularly updates its servers to get around this, you can try a different service if you don’t want to wait.  During tests, I found ExpressVPN can easily bypass Netflix’s detection technology. Better still, every server I tested worked on the first attempt, so I could start watching Netflix immediately.

The Best Alternative VPNs for Netflix (Tested in January 2023)

1. ExpressVPN — Ultra-Fast Speeds and Easy Access to 18+ Netflix Libraries

ExpressVPN has blazing-fast speeds and reliable connections to Netflix. I tested the ExpressVPN app with both the Netflix app and browser, and I didn’t see the error message a single time. It never took more than a couple of seconds to connect to a working server, so I never had to wait long to start streaming Netflix. In total, ExpressVPN’s servers successfully unblocked more than 18 Netflix libraries, including the US, Japan, Australia, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, Sweden, and the UK. During my tests, I was impressed by its proprietary Lightway protocol, which kept my speeds fast enough for HD streaming (even when connected to servers 15,000km away!). Even if you have slower internet speeds, Lightway keeps speed loss to a minimum so you don’t have to sacrifice stream quality. For devices that don’t support VPNs, ExpressVPN has a MediaStreamer feature that lets you change your DNS settings to access Netflix in other locations. This is easy to configure with detailed setup guides on the website and a 24/7 live chat team ready to assist. You’ll get the most affordable price when you sign up for a long-term plan. For instance, the 1-year plan comes down to just $6.67 per month and lets you save 49% off the full subscription cost. The best way to make sure it’s the right choice for you is to test ExpressVPN with Netflix for yourself. If you’re not fully satisfied, it has a 30-day money-back guarantee you can use to get a refund. I went through the process myself and it was easy — it only took a couple of minutes over the 24/7 live chat to arrange my refund, and I had my money back in just 5 days. Watch Netflix with ExpressVPN

2. CyberGhost — Optimized Servers Guarantee Access to Netflix

CyberGhost has dedicated Netflix servers that make connecting to multiple libraries easy. These servers are regularly tested to ensure they connect so you don’t have to struggle to find the right option. There are optimized servers for Netflix US, Japan, France, Germany, Italy, Sweden, and the UK. My team and I tested these connections and each server worked perfectly with Netflix. You can also configure CyberGhost with a compatible router to connect devices that don’t support VPNs (like game consoles). The process is simple and only took me a couple of minutes as CyberGhost has comprehensive setup guides on its help website. During tests, I found CyberGhost’s optimized connections are fast enough for UltraHD streaming. I didn’t experience any buffering or lag so I could stream Netflix uninterrupted at any time of day. To ensure top speeds, I made sure to use the WireGuard protocol as well as connect to the optimized servers. Unfortunately, CyberGhost struggles to maintain fast speeds over long distances. I noticed a drop of around 60% (from 190Mbps to 76Mbps) when connecting to an Australian server. My stream quality was unaffected, but if your internet speeds are slower you could experience lag, buffering, or pixelation with distant servers. To try CyberGhost with Netflix risk-free, you can take advantage of its 45-day money-back guarantee and use it like a free trial (useful if you want to binge-watch your favorite show!). This refund policy is available with subscriptions of 6 months or longer, so I recommend you sign up for CyberGhost’s 2-year + 4 months plan at just $2.03 per month. If you change your mind, it’s easy to request a refund. When I tested the process, it only took only 5 minutes over 24/7 live chat. I had my refund in under a week. Watch Netflix with CyberGhost

3. Private Internet Access — Thousands of Servers Make Netflix Connections Easy

Private Internet Access (PIA) has a large server network for watching Netflix with more than 35000 servers worldwide. A huge network makes it easy for PIA to connect to top Netflix locations — particularly in the US, where most servers are located. During tests, my team and I used PIA to stream Netflix from our browsers and the mobile app without server congestion or connection issues. Servers worked with Netflix Canada, Germany, Poland, Spain, and the UK. Unfortunately, PIA couldn’t access Netflix Japan. PIA’s speeds were good for local servers, so streaming was uninterrupted with little content load time. However, distant servers struggle to maintain speeds of more than 30Mbps. If your regular internet speeds are slower, I suggest choosing the nearest physical server for the best speeds. Although PIA can’t access as many Netflix libraries as ExpressVPN or CyberGhost, it makes up for this by being cheaper. If you subscribe to PIA’s 2-year + 4 months plan, you’ll only pay $2.03 per monthm, which is a good deal if you’re looking to save on a Netflix VPN. Every plan is backed by a 30-day money-back guarantee. When I tested this by asking for my money back, the customer support agent offered to help me troubleshoot any issues. I confirmed I wanted a refund and it was processed promptly with my money back in under a week. Watch Netflix with PIA PIA works on: Windows, Mac, Android, iOS, Linux, Chrome, Firefox, Kodi, routers, and more.

4. Surfshark — Best Value for Money with Unlimited Device Connections and Fast Speeds

Surfshark offers the best value for money out of every premium VPN on the market. You can connect an unlimited number of devices with a single subscription (which means you can connect your entire family and even friends!). I tested Surfshark’s unlimited connections on 2 PCs, 2 phones, a Fire Stick 4K, and an iPad. My connection remained reliable on all 6 devices. Even while I was actively streaming on all my devices, my average speed was 112 Mbps — fast enough for UltraHD quality. When I saw the price of this service, I thought it couldn’t possibly have top-grade security features for such a low price, but I was pleasantly surprised. Surfshark has the following security and privacy features:

AES 256-bit encryption on all devices, with ChaCha encryption available for Android users Wireguard VPN protocol enabled by default Diskless, RAM-only servers to protect your privacy (no data can be physically extracted from any servers) Kill switch (although this isn’t enabled by default) IP and DNS leak protection

Surfshark offers two-factor authentication (2FA) on your account. This feature requires you to enter an extra code before you can log in to ensure that only you (and those you share your account with) can access your account. While Surfshark does have slightly fewer global servers than rivals such as CyberGhost and PIA, I didn’t experience any issues during my tests. I easily connected fast working servers every time, and I had excellent speeds for streaming Netflix in Ultra HD, downloading torrents, and browsing the internet. You can try Surfshark for yourself with the 30-day money-back guarantee. It has plans that cost as little as $2.05. Requesting a refund is easy with Surfshark’s live chat feature. Although the support team asked why I wanted to cancel my subscription, I had no problem getting my money back (and it only took 4 days!). Surfshark works on: Windows, Mac OS, Android, iOS, Linux, Fire Stick, PS4, Xbox One, Nintendo Switch, Samsung Smart TVs, LG Smart TVs, Android TV, Kodi, and selected routers

Will Netflix ban my account if I use a VPN?

Not necessarily. A VPN is an essential tool for online privacy and you can use some high-quality VPNs with Netflix. There’s also no mention of VPNs or proxies in the Terms of Use. The reason Netflix doesn’t want you to use a VPN is because of copyright regulations, which only allow certain content to be broadcast in specific locations. In Netflix’s Terms of Use, you agree not to “circumvent, remove, alter, deactivate, degrade or thwart any of the content protections in the Netflix service.” Furthermore: While using a VPN to access content from overseas can result in account termination or restriction, there have been no cases to date of Netflix banning users for using a VPN.

Can I use a free VPN to watch Netflix anywhere?

Yes, there are some free VPNs you can try with Netflix. However, even premium VPNs sometimes have issues avoiding the error message. Free VPNs don’t have the technology to consistently access Netflix, which means finding a server that works will be a hassle. Plus, free VPNs have data limits and speed restrictions so you won’t be able to stream as much as you want to. Instead of getting frustrated with a free VPN, I recommend you try CyberGhost instead. CyberGhost has a 45-day money-back guarantee and you can use it like a free trial. Just make sure to ask for a refund within 45 days to get your money back. If you don’t want to deal with any limitations, you can also check out the cheapest monthly VPN deals in 2023. You don’t have to worry about being locked into a long-term contract.

Can I watch Netflix with NordVPN on my Android TV?

Yes, you can watch Netflix on your Android TV with NordVPN. In the past, I had to install the service on my Android TV through my router, but NordVPN recently released an app for Android TV. I tested it on my own Samsung TV and completed the setup in less than 3 minutes.

How to Download NordVPN on Android TV (In Under 3 Minutes)

Which country has the best Netflix?

Netflix US, UK, Canada, and Australia are all great options for streaming a variety of content, as they have the largest libraries of all the Netflix countries. All of the recommended VPNs have servers in these countries and it just takes 3 simple steps to start streaming Netflix.

How does NordVPN avoid the Netflix proxy error message?

It’s due to its SmartPlay feature. By combining the benefits of a VPN and a smart proxy, it can get around Netflix’s proxy detection to stream its content worldwide.

NordVPN Is Good for Netflix

NordVPN is still a top choice for Netflix. In addition, it can also keep you safe when streaming, gaming, and torrenting online. It has some top-tier features, including:

AES-256-bit encryption on all 5000+ servers Proprietary NordLynx protocol for speed and security CyberSec protection against ads, trackers, and malware Split tunneling, server obfuscation, and dedicated P2P file-sharing connections 24/7 customer support and a money-back guarantee

If you’re looking for a VPN with all the above features plus direct access to Netflix worldwide — then I recommend you give NordVPN a try. With fast speeds, smooth streaming, and premium security, you won’t be disappointed with its performance. Don’t take my word for it though. You can try NordVPN and see how well it works. If you’re not fully satisfied, you can easily get a full refund with the 30-day money-back guarantee. Still unsure about which VPN to choose? Here are the latest results for the best all-round VPNs in 2023.

Summary — Best VPNs for Netflix in 2023